UU Young Adults are invited to participate in the UUYACJ Book Club: an opportunity to deepen our political education and reflect together in community.

CURRENT BOOK: All We Can Save, edited by Ayana Elizabeth Johnson and Katharine K. Wilkinson

Starting in October 2020, we will read All We Can Save, a recently released anthology of writings by women climate leaders. Over the span of 10 weeks, we’ll gather to dive deep into feminist climate justice, with supplemental reading material provided by the book’s editors. Read more about the book and project. In addition to UUYACJ discussions, you are encouraged to join the ongoing events featuring the book’s editors and authors.

The book club currently meets Saturdays at 10am PT/1pm ET for an hour. Each week, we’ll read a new section of the book.

Week 1: “Begin” – Saturday, October 10 at 9am PT/Noon ET

Week 2: “Root” – Saturday, October 17 at 10am PT/1pm ET (new time)

Week 3: “Advocate” – Saturday, October 24 at 10am PT/1pm ET

Week 4: “Reframe” – Saturday, October 31 at 10am PT/1pm ET

Week 5: “Reshape” – Saturday, November 7

Week 6: “Persist” – Saturday, November 14

Week 7: “Feel” – Saturday, November 21

Week 8: “Nourish” – Saturday, November 28

Week 9: “Rise” – Saturday, December 5

Week 10: “Onward” – Saturday, December 12

Previous UUYACJ Book Club selections (in addition to this list, be sure to check out UUMFE’s Recommended Books):

  • Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler
  • An Indigenous People’s History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
  • Stolen Future, Broken Present: the Human Significance of Climate Change by David Collings
  • No Condition is Permanent, 19 Poets on Climate Justice and Change
  • Active Hope: How to Face the Mess We’re in Without Going Crazy by Joanna Macy & Chris Johnstone
  • When Women Were Birds by Terry Tempest Williams