General Assembly 2020

UUMFE Connections at General Assembly 2020

UU Ministry for Earth will be at the Virtual General Assembly with pre-programs, workshops, movie screenings and post-programming from June 19th through June 28th.  In addition, leaders of UUMFE will host open conversation hours in the virtual UUMFE Booth.

Get Connected on CreateClimateJustice.net

Connect with other UU eco activists participating in General Assembly and stay up to date on meet-up times and the like by joining the “UUA General Assembly (GA) 2020 participants” group on CreateClimateJustice.net

PRE-PROGRAMS

Documentary Screening of The Condor & The Eagle
Thursday, 6/18 at 5:30 pm PT / 6:30 pm MT / 7:30 pm CT / 8:30 pm ET
Sliding-scale suggested donation of $1-100 ($25 avg)

Indigenous environmental leaders embark on an extraordinary trans-continental adventure from the Boreal forest to deep into the heart of the Amazonian jungle to unite the peoples of North and South America and deepen the meaning of “Climate Justice”. Attendees must PRE-REGISTER HERE.

 

Transforming & Ending the Colonial Paradigm
with the InterNātional Initiative for Transformative Collaboration
Tuesday 6/23 from 9 am.-12 pm. PT / 10-1 MT / 11-2 CT / 12-3 ET
Indigenous Peoples have emerged as leaders in the movement for climate justice. This session is an invitation calling our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual selves to gather, listen, and consider how it is possible to move into a deeper relationship with each other and Earth.
REGISTER HERE

Additional programming is scheduled as part of the Plymouth 4ooth Remembrance at GA 2020.
READ HERE

GA BUSINESS

UUMFE Endorses the Proposed Business Resolution, “Embodying Human Rights in Our Investment Decisions”
The proposed Business Resolution will enhance the work of Unitarian Universalists for social justice by strengthening our use of corporate investment/divestment and shareholder advocacy in support of human rights. The Resolution calls on the UUA to:

  1. Strengthen its use of human rights considerations in its investment decisions;
  2. Develop mechanisms of communication between the UUA investment committees and UU social justice groups.The UUA investment committees support the resolution.

The mini assembly will be on Wednesday, June 24 at 12 pm PT / 1 pm MT / 2 pm CT /  3 pm ET.  The resolution will be debated and voted on in General Session 4 on Friday, June 26 at 12:30 pm PT / 1:30 pm MT / 2:30 pmCT / 3:30 pm ET.   See the resolution at in the GA Business Agenda  (p67).

Action of Immediate Witness from the Plymouth 400th Remembrance Task Force:
Address 400 Hundred Years of White Supremacist Colonialism
This AIW describes the reasons why Unitarian Universalists must remember and address the European invasion of this continent, the genocide of the original peoples and the ongoing destruction of our earth. It offers priority actions which Unitarian Universalists can take in solidarity with Indigenous-led movements and struggles.
Final list and text of Actions of Immediate Witness will be posted in the GA Participation Portal by
Thursday, June 25, 12:00 pm ET for consideration by the delegates. See Program Book, Page 68 for more details.

Contact Information:
Rev. Clyde Grubbs, cegrubbs@me.com
Rev. Karen VanFossan, karenvanfossan@gmail.com, 701.202.2421
Ann Gilmore, gilpete@msn.com

ON-DEMAND WORKSHOPS 

Note:  Access information will be included with release of GA 2020 Program Details through the GA 2020 Portal.

LEARNING FROM PROVIDENCE: Climate & Environmental Justice Training – #622

Part 1 – The Providence Climate Justice Plan
The Providence team describes how their plan was developed and is already preventing pollutants in their most burdened communities.

Part 2 – Building from the Providence Example
Learn how to achieve measurable emissions reductions and justice objectives using the lessons from Providence and the Strengthen Local Climate Commitment (SLCC) Campaign.

Part 3 – Create Climate Justice – Weaving it All Together
Band together and become the UU Movement in partnership with frontline impacted communities.

Workshop Participants

Leah Bamberger, Director of Sustainability, City of Providence
Dick Boyce, UU Church of Columbus Indiana, Chairman Environmental Acton Team
Eric Goplerud, UU Congregation of Fairfax, VA, Board Chair, Faith Alliance for Climate Solutions, FACS
Monica Huertas, Racial and Env.Justice Committee, City of Providence, Member, Religious Society of Bell Street Chapel (UU)
Court King, Climate Justice Policy Associate, City of Providence
Lisa Maloney, Green Team Facilitator, First Unitarian Church of Providence, RI
Doris Marlin, All Souls Church UU, Washington DC. Lay Leader, Strengthen Local Climate Commitments (SLCC)
Bill McPherson, University Unitarian Church, Seattle, WA, Climate Lead, JUUstice Washington
Zak Mettger, Green Team Facilitator, First Unitarian Church of Providence, RI
Gary Piazzon, UU Congregation of Whidbey Island, WA, Social Environmental Justice Council Co-Facilitator
Aly Tharp, UU Ministry for Earth Program Director, Member, Wildflower UU, Austin, TX
Rev. Dr. Kate Walker and the Climate Team of Mt. Vernon Unitarian Church, Alexandria, VA
Walter Weiss, River Road Unitarian Church, Bethesda MD, Dir., MC_FACS, Montgomery County MD, Faith Alliance for Climate Solutions
Shout Out To: Steve Ahlquist, member First Unitarian Church of Providence, RI

+ READ MORE


PLYMOUTH 400th REMEMBRANCE – Colonialism Workshop Track

Part 1 – Covenant & Colonialism – #605
We remember the Pilgrims and the first churches in New England as forerunners of our contemporary
Unitarian Universalism. We especially cherish their covenants. Yet we know that these churches advocated
and blessed the conquest and genocide of the original people of this land. Who do we covenant with, and
why?

Part 2 – Settler Colonialism and Genocide – #606
Our earth nourishes and gives us life, yet the values and practices of settler colonialism have been ecologically
destructive and now threaten life itself. Sustainable indigenous ways of life were violently replaced. Learning
life giving practices from Turtle Island’s original peoples could make all the difference for generations to come.

Part 3 – Decolonization & Earth Justice – #616
The Mayflower landing represented something new in the conquest of “the Americas.” We review the
Plymouth Planation as an example of Settler Colonialism and begin to understand how the Pilgrims modeled
the coming genocide, the introducution of chattel slavery and removal for the original people of this land.

Workshop Participants:

  • Rev. Dr. Clyde Grubbs
  • Rev. Danielle Di Bona
  • Rev. Gary McAlpin
  • Rev. Karen Van Fossan
  • Rev. Adam Lawrence Dyer
  • Aly Tharp, Program Director, UUMFE

 


Indigenous Resistance: NoDAPL Political Prisoners Create Climate Justice
Sunday, June 28 @ 1:30-3 pm PT / 2:30-4 pm MT/ 3:30-5 pm CT / 4:30-5 pm ET
Sponsored by Green Sanctuary Program of the UUA
Colonialism criminalizes Indigenous resistance. While the Water Protector Movement at Standing Rock inspired the world, Indigenous activists are targeted as Political Prisoners by the US government. UUs have responded powerfully to the Standing Rock call. Now, toward a truly just and sustainable world, we are called into deepening decolonizing work.

Speakers:

VIRTUAL EXHIBIT HALL

UUMFE VISITATION HOURS – This is a chance to talk with UUMFE leaders about campaigns, webinars, worship materials, and other resources for your climate justice programming and projects. 

No GA Registration required.

Wednesday, June 24, 2020  1:30 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern and   5:30 pm – 7:15 pm Eastern
Thursday,     June 25, 2020   11:30 am- 1:30 pm Eastern and   2:30 pm- 4:00 pm Eastern
Friday,           June 26, 2020   11:30 am – 1:30 pm Eastern and   2:30 pm – 4:00 pm Eastern
Saturday,     June 27, 2020    11:30 am – 1:30 pm Eastern and   2:30 pm – 4:00 pm Eastern

Open ZOOM LINk for UUMFE Booth.

GREEN SANCTUARY POSTER SESSION
CLIMATE URGENCY: A UU Faithful Response
Green Sanctuary offers a new congregational path for UU faithful responses to the current climate crisis, even during the pandemic. Justice and climate lay and professional leaders will learn about program structure and flexibility for congregational work and mobilization. Staff and Green Sanctuary Board advisors offer question and answer time.

THE UUMFE STORE – Logo Shirts, UUYACJ bandannas now in four colors, UUMFE brochures and Create Climate Justice buttons are available in The UUMFE Store to help promote your values and actions.


POST-PROGRAMS

THE CONDOR & THE EAGLE Documentary Screening & Discussion

Sunday, 6/28 @ 3 pm PT / 4 pm MT / 5 pm CT / 6 pm ET
REGISTER NOW

Co-Hosted by UUMFE, Side With Love, & multi-faith partners. The perfect way to close out GA 2020!

 

GA PARTICIPANT SURVEY

Thank you for connecting with UU Ministry for Earth! Please fill out the form below to join UUMFE’s mailing list[s] and share more information about who you are, what you are seeking in connecting with UU Ministry for Earth, and what your ministries for Earth Justice are focused on:

Please only abbreviate "UU" and spell out other words
Check all that apply. The UUMFE eNews features news for inspiration, education, activation, and connection; the Create Climate Justice Newsletter is co-managed by UUMFE & UUA and focused on denomination-wide UU climate justice ministries; the Env. Justice Practitioners Network (EJPN) is focused on education and activation for issues related to environmental racism and injustice; the UU Climate Action Network is focused on networking among place-based climate ministries (connecting congregational, state action network-, & denomination-wide- initiatives); the SLCC campaign is focused on supporting UU engagement in local climate justice policy/transformation processes .
UU Ministry for Earth is working on forming community circles and strengthening relationship with members who hold these identities.
UU Ministry for Earth is working on forming community circles and strengthening relationship with members who hold these identities.
Select a MAXIMUM of 3 answers.