COP26 Details & Resource Catalogue

ADDITIONAL DETAILS & RESOURCES – Supporting information / UUs and COP 26 Events

1. Preparing for the COP26: Your Actions and the UN Climate Summit

Thursday, October 28 4pm PT / 5 MT / 6 CT / 7pm ET
Hosted by UU Ministry for Earth & the UUA Office at the United Nations (UU@UN)

Additional Details and Resources UNDER CONSTRUCTION

    • Optional Advance Model UN Preparation Materials for Discussion
    • Actions you can take and why you are critical to furthering the goals of COP 26, (especially if the Infrastructure Bill is weakened by congress

2.  UU Bill McPherson will lead daily discussions during COP 26 at 4pm ET / 3pm CT, 2pm MT, 1pm PT – RSVP LINK

Additional Details and Resources will be added here

3.  Watch COP 26 Events from Glasgow LIVE OR ON DEMAND

FOLLOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS TO WATCH  EVENTS

Or just go directly to the UNFCCC Webpage

4.  Daily updates from the Earth Negotiations Bulletin LINK

5. UN Day Forum: Taking Action on Climate Change Held Sunday, October 24, 2021

Hosted by DC Metro Area UU Congregations and the United Nations Association of the National Capital Area
RECORDING AVAILABLE HERE 

Doris Marlin’s Slide Presentation
UUA GA 2020 Workshop Referenced – Providence Rhode Island Climate Justice Plan – Learning From Providence:  Climate & Environmental Justice Training – Includes specific targets for equity and justice objectives in the plan

6.  Taking Action for Global Impact – Strengthen Local Climate Commitments (SLCC)

held October 6, 2021 SLCC National Collaboration Call

More Information and Resources:  Fair Share Contributions to the Green Climate Fund & Climate Finance 

– Are Countries Giving Enough to the $100B Climate Finance Goal? | World Resources Institute (wri.org)

-UUSC recently signed on about the Green Climate Fund GCF

CHAT & RESOURCES from 6 Oct 2020 – Summary Document 

SLIDE SHOWN LINKS:

Doris Marlin’s Meeting Overview Slides  
Dr. McPherson’s Summary Slides on the IPCC Report AR-6

SLCC – Toolkit & Appendix for Strengthen Local Climate Commitments
(2 Documents, “Pre-Final” is latest version, May 2020)

UU Project Drawdown 2021 Initiative  (ongoing)
Main Web Page

UUA GA 2021 Workshop Video Featuring UUs doing Drawdown EcoChallenge:  Drawing Communities Together

 

*****

You are encouraged to do your own research, and these additional information sources are offered:

*Follow COP 26 Reports at the main Twitter hashtag #COP26

*Summary from World Resources Institute: Will COP26 Be a Success? That Depends on 4 Critical Questions 

*VOX – The fate of the planet will be negotiated in Glasgow, Scotland   Here’s what you need to know about COP26, the high-stakes climate conference that starts on October 31, By Umair Irfan

*Climate One Audio –What’s on Tap at COP26 in Glasgow  What’s on Tap at COP26 in Glasgow | Climate One

*Climate One Audio – Zen and Coping with Climate Change   Zen and Coping with Climate | Climate One

*State of Climate Action 2021 – Reviews of All Sectors – and Just Transition:  RELEASE: Progress lagging across all sectors to limit warming to 1.5 C, but rapid change is possible, finds new report | World Resources Institute (wri.org)

Go Back To Main Events for UUs at COP 26 Page