Celebrate the 2020 Winter Solstice!

The Winter Solstice, falling on Monday, December 21, 2020, marks the shortest day and longest night of the year, and the beginning of a new season. For many traditions, it is an invitation to pause, reflect, and honor the sacredness of both light and darkness. Seasonal transitions, and winter especially, may also offer an important window into revealing how climate change is affecting local ecosystems, and our own physical and emotional responses to these shifts. How might the Solstice be an invitation to get back in tune with the Earth’s cycles and rhythms, and how might that ground us in our work for climate justice?

UU Ministry for Earth compiles this non-exhaustive list of UU Winter Solstice offerings, including for Young Adults. May this Solstice be a time for rest, healing and contemplation. 

Here are the UUA’s resources on Winter Solstice/Yule.

On Demand: Dark Beauty Ecstatic Dance Music Set from Sabrina Louise, UU Ministry for Earth Office Manager

Before the Winter Solstice: 

The Long Night: A Yuletide Celebration

Saturday, December 19 at 4pm PT/7pm ET

Hosted by the Frederick, MD, Chapter of the Covenant of UU Pagans

Zoom LinkMore info.

Recommended donation is $5. Make a donation here. 

 

Yule Ritual Livestream

Saturday, December 19 at 6:30pm PT/9:30pm ET

Hosted by First Unitarian Universalist Church of San Diego

Multi-generational live-streamed event on the website, and Facebook page. Posted to YouTube channel after the live-stream. 

Questions? Email sdpagansuu@gmail.com

 

Yule Ritual

Sunday, December 20 at 4pm PT/7pm ET

Hosted by Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Wyoming Valley Chapter of the Covenant of UU Pagans

Zoom Link / Facebook event

 

On the Winter Solstice: 

CALL TO ACTION – Water & Stars: A Solstice Solidarity Action to Stop Live 3

Monday, December 21 – Sunset/All Day

Hosted by Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light and Honor the Earth

More Info

 

Winter Solstice Service & Virtual Bonfire

Hosted by Mystic Grove Chapter of the Covenant of UU Pagans in Orlando, FL

Monday, December 21

Service: 4pm PT/7pm ET

Streamed over Facebook Live and YouTube.

Virtual Yule Bonfire Virgil: 5pm PT/8pm ET over Zoom. Facebook Event.

Contact: mysticgrove@orlandouu.org

 

For Young Adults

Winter Solstice Worship

Hosted by Young Adult Revival Network

Sunday, December 20 at 5pm PT/8pm ET

Facebook Event

 

Winter Solstice Climate Reflection

Hosted by UU Young Adults for Climate Justice Network

Tuesday, December 22 at 5pm PT/8pm ET

Register on Zoom / Facebook Event

UUMFE
UUMFE
This is an administrative account for UU Ministry for Earth (UUMFE).