Mobilize and Protect Democracy with UU the Vote and More

Dear friend,

Election Day is only twelve days away in the United States. If you haven’t already, now is the time to get involved and UU the Vote for the Harvest the Power Week of Action! Together, Unitarian Universalists are working hard to reach at least two million potential voters.

There is no shortage of ways to get involved – UU Ministry for Earth has compiled this list outlining upcoming trainings, events, and actions you can take to UU the Vote. As UUs make a last-minute sprint in this uncertain time, don’t forget to make a plan for self care and community care. Also see this list of upcoming community care offerings from UU organizations and others.

Mobilize Voters

UU the Vote for Climate Justice

On October 25, 2020, the UU Office at the UN, UU Ministry for Earth, UU the Vote, and the New Florida Majority joined forces for a special webinar on United Nations Sunday focusing on how the election will impact climate justice initiatives globally at the United Nations and locally in Florida! Presenters include Nicole Pressley, UU the Vote National Campaign Manager; Joanne Pérodin, The New Florida Majority Climate Justice Program Manager; and Allison Hess, UUA International Engagement Associate. 

This webinar will provide you with powerful stories and context, in preparation for the two remaining UU the Vote phone banks to Florida with the New Florida Majority on October 27 and November 2

Take a look at the full list of UU the Vote national phone banks and sign up for one if you can!

In this historic and chaotic year, it’s clear that this election will not be over on November 3rd. We must do all that we can to Defend the Elections –the risky, the uncomfortable, the loving, the caring, and even the mundane and ordinary actions to move forward towards our collective liberation. Right now, that means showing up to make sure everyone can vote safely and that every vote gets counted. The UU the Vote resource page for election defense is full of resources and training opportunities you won’t want to miss!

The UU the Vote  team is also creating a powerful video that lifts up our hopes and prayers for the future we’re creating together. Add your voice to this project with a 5-15 second video about the world you seek to create. Record a short video of yourself (be sure it’s horizontal if you are using a phone camera) and add it to the Google Folder linked above. It can be just one word or a couple of sentences!

Here are a few other ways to converge and mobilize for the election with other social justice and climate justice groups:

Keep in mind that any non-partisan election voter drive calls UUs make can be counted towards UU the Vote’s goal of making 2 million calls!

Election Defenders! Training Series

Oct.  29, and November 2

4:30-7pm PT / 5:30-8pm MT / 6:30-9pm CT / 7:30-9pm ET

REGISTER HERE

Hosted by Election Defenders, a joint effort of the Movement for Black Lives Electoral Justice Project and the Working Families Party

Bystander Intervention Training to Protect Democracy

  • Thursday, October 29 at 2pm PT/5pm ET – Register
  • Monday, November 2 at 1pm PT/4pm ET – Register

Hosted by Future Coalition and Hollaback!

Defend Our Democracy 

Tuesday, October 27

5pm PT / 6pm MT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET

RSVP HERE

Hosted by the Labor Network for Sustainability

These climate groups have phonebanking every day from now until election day at various times: 

350.org Climate Vote Project – Phone Banking

RSVP HERE

Lead Locally Climate Phone Banking 

RSVP HERE

Greenpeace Volunteer Call Team

 RSVP HERE

Sunrise Movement Volunteer Phonebanking

RSVP HERE

Sierra Club
RSVP HERE

This Harvest the Power Week of Action with UU the Vote is the beginning of a six week confluence of Unitarian Universalist Justice ministries to “Harvest the Power of Community” through these challenging and critical times. 

Together, we will deepen our relationships, draw on the sources of wholeness and strength in which we are rooted, and move together in powerful ways for justice.

The capstone of this program will be a Harvest the Power Justice Summit & Decolonization Teach-In, November 19-22, and a livestream of the the United American Indians of New England’s 51st Day of Mourning in Plymouth, MA, on Thursday, November 26. Sign up here to stay up to date about the Justice Summit/Teach-In and Day of Mourning events.

Thank you for reading this message and plugging in where you can for love, justice and democracy!

In faith and solidarity,

Aly Tharp

Program Director, UU Ministry for Earth

Create Climate Justice Manager, UUA Organizing Strategy Team

 

UUMFE
UUMFE
This is an administrative account for UU Ministry for Earth (UUMFE).