Webinar Sept. 18: People of the Land: Healing From the White Supremacy and Colonization Pandemic

What does it mean to be an ally or accomplice in the work for climate justice and practice of Indigenous solidarity? The powerful webinar series People of the Land: Healing From the White Supremacy and Colonization Pandemic” continued with Session #3 on September 18th at 4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET to explore this question. It featured the Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas offering guidance about allyship, accompliceship and trusting the wisdom of the tribe. The series is a collaboration with the Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas, UUA, Environmental Justice Practitioners Network (EJPN), UU Service Committee (UUSC), and the Texas UU Justice Ministry (TXUUJM). 

Each 90-minute session of the series, held on the third Friday of each month, offers conversations led by the tribe about Indigenous struggles for decolonization, such as sovereignty, environmental justice, and self-determination. Aimed primarily at non-tribal members, participants will learn how to build authentic relationships with the tribe and help protect their sacred sites.

Previous Sessions 

Watch Session #1: “So your grandma is NDN (Indian) & you don’t like controversy”

Watch Session #2: “Honoring Lifeways”

Upcoming Sessions: 

You can register HERE for one or more sessions.

SESSION 3 – September 18th at 4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET – Allies and Accomplices
Conversations on allyship, solidarity, and trusting the wisdom of the tribe.

SESSION 4 – October 16th at 4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET – Defend Yalui Village
Conversations on supporting efforts to defend the Yalui Village from Trump’s Border Wall and Oil and Gas Pipelines.

SESSION 5 – November 20th at 4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET – Protect Garcia Pasture
Conversations on supporting efforts to protect Garcia Pasture, a tribal site currently occupied by oil and gas companies.

SESSION 6 – December 18th at 4pm PT/ 5pm MT/ 6pm CT/ 7pm ET– Eagle Pass-Mine & Other Tribal Sites
Conversations about additional tribal sites currently under the threat of fracking and ways we can support

UUMFE
UUMFE
This is an administrative account for UU Ministry for Earth (UUMFE).