Starting July 17: New Webinar Series, “People of the Land: Healing from the White Supremacy and Colonization Pandemic”

While the dual pandemics of Covid-19 and racism wreak havoc on communities around the world, UUs are called to not only continue but deepen our solidarity work, following the leadership of Black and Indigenous people and other People of Color. UUMFE’s Environmental Justice Practitioners Network (EJPN) has created spaces to explore what justice means for communities most impacted  — and now invites you to tune into a new webinar series, “People of the Land: Healing From the White Supremacy and Colonization Pandemic”. This six-part series, beginning TONIGHT, July 17 at 4-5:30pm PT / 6-7:30pm CT/ 7-8:30pm ET, will feature the Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas, in a collaboration with EJPN, UUA, UU Service Committee (UUSC), and the Texas UU Justice Ministry (TXUUJM). 

Each 90-minute session, held on the third Friday of each month, will offer conversations led by the tribe about Indigenous struggles for decolonization, such as sovereignty, environmental justice, and self-determination. Aimed primarily at non-tribal members, participants will learn how to build authentic relationships with the tribe and help protect their sacred sites.  

You can register HERE for one or more sessions.

People of the Land: Healing from White Supremacy and Colonization Pandemic

SESSION 1 – TONIGHT, July 17 at 4pm PT / 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – So Your Grandma is NDN (Indian) and You Don’t Like Controversy

Conversations exploring native identity and what it means to be original people of the land.

SESSION 2 – August 21st at 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – Honoring Lifeways

Conversations on the pandemic of racism, and exploring the difference between ceremony and lifeways.

SESSION 3 – September 18th at 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – Allies and Accomplices

Conversations on allyship, solidarity, and trusting the wisdom of the tribe.

SESSION 4 – October 16th at 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – Defend Yalui Village

Conversations on supporting efforts to defend the Yalui Village from Trump’s Border Wall and Oil and Gas Pipelines.

SESSION 5 – November 20th at 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – Protect Garcia Pasture

Conversations on supporting efforts to protect Garcia Pasture, a tribal site currently occupied by oil and gas companies.

SESSION 6 – December 18th at 6pm CT/ 7pm EST – Eagle Pass-Mine & Other Tribal Sites

Conversations about additional tribal sites currently under the threat of fracking and ways we can support.

Maya Goss
Maya Goss
Maya is a recent graduate of Floral Park Memorial High School. She will be studying Physics at McGill University this fall. She is passionate about all things climate justice, especially implementing a just energy transition and protecting frontline communities. Maya is thrilled to be interning with the UUMFE, and hopes to gain an understanding of what climate justice really entails and how to achieve it.